NATIONAL DATA

 

National inventory of greenhouse gas emissions

In line with its international commitments under the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC), including enhancing the transparency of actions to mitigate greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions, Morocco has set up, since 2015, a National System of Inventory of GHG called “SNI-GES”.

With the support of the Climate Change Competence Center project (4C/IKI) of the GIZ, implemented in partnership with the Ministry of Energy, Mines and Environment, the implementation of the SNI-GES concerned two main components. On the one hand, it concerns the institutionalization aspects by supporting national actors to establish institutional arrangements formalized by a decree, and on the other hand, strengthening the capacities of the various stakeholders to equip them with technical instruments and methodological tools in order to ensure the quality and sustainability of the system put in place.

 

The implemented system plays a key role in the transparency of the implementation of national commitments vis-à-vis the international community and is a valuable tool for steering national policies in terms of reducing GHG emissions.

To capitalize on past experiences, a diagnosis of the work of the national GHG inventory was conducted in 2014 and served as a basis for the design of the SNI-GHG architecture and the actors to be involved. The agreed institutional scheme includes a National Inventory Commission (CNI), a National Inventory Unit (UNI), a National Coordinator, five sectoral coordinators, inventory technicians and Focal Points. This scheme was agreed following a broad process of consultation with the various stakeholders. A Decree (No. 2.18.74) defining the responsibilities of the actors has been adopted and published in the Moroccan Official Bulletin.

 

Regional data and indicators

The regional indicators were developed as part of the Monitoring and Evaluation System (SSE) for Vulnerability and Adaptation to Climate Change (ACC) in the Souss-Massa, Marrakech-Tensift-Al Haouz and Beni Mellal Khenifra regions. This collection is the summary of a consultation work carried out between the Regional Observatories of the Environment and Sustainable Development (OREDD) of the mentioned regions and the GIZ's Environmental Climate Governance (GEC) project.

Definition, methodology and indicators building process

An indicator is a variable, a data whose values are significant in relation to the issue being addressed. Indeed, the indicator makes it possible to translate a reality or a generally rather complex state into a succinct and easily understandable information that the end user can integrate into his activity. To do this, it is necessary to take into account two inseparable aspects:

The first aspect consists in selecting the indicator according to a concerted approach based on clear and objective criteria;


The second aspect is the interpretation of the indicator and the communication of the resulting information in a suitable format that meets the information needs expressed by the end user.

 

The main purpose of the indicators is to provide a diagnostic of elements of vulnerability at the regional level which would serve as a reference in relation to changes over time and, secondly, to make comparisons and to measure the possible evolutions.


 

The indicators contained in this section are the result of a consultation process that took place in the following phases:

4

Filling in the final grid and establishing the reference state

Identification and prioritization, based on clear and agreed criteria, of the indicators and constitution of a preliminary grid

2

1

Elaboration of the methodology of monitoring 

3

Finalization and validation of the indicators grid

Regional indicators

For each of the regions mentioned in the presentation, you will find a fact sheet listing the relevant indicators in the fields of water, agriculture, forestry and biodiversity as well as other interesting data for the analysis of the sustainable development factors  in the studied regions.

Climate change in the regions

Regional Information System on the Environment and Sustainable Development (SIREDD)

In a concern to decentralize management of environmental information and in order to meet the needs of regional and local decision-makers, the Moroccan economic regions need an efficient system to collect, analyze and manage environmental data. In this context that the department in charge of the Environment is committed to the establishment of a Regional Information System on the Environment and Sustainable Development (SIREDD). The overall goal is to have a decision support and a strategic policy monitoring tool for environmental management and protection and sustainable development at the regional level.

The specific objectives are:

Represent the environmental situation of the region

Facilitate and boost the flow of information between regional partners (network)

Arrange and have an environmental dashboard for monitoring the state of the environment at the regional level based on a list of environmental indicator

Strengthen the capacities of regional actors

Strengthen the environmental outlook with the tools of future projection of the state of the environment

Set up a platform for the production and regular dissemination of environmental products of the Regional Observatory for the Environment and Sustainable Development of the region

Regional Information System on the Environment and Sustainable Development (SIREDD) is realised in consultation with regional partners and offers a transparent data sharing framework open to citizens. It allows the management of the three forms of alphanumeric, geographic and documentary information in the same structured database. It offers the following services:

Adding new themes (climate change) and indicators

Setting up geographic layers

Creation of new services (applications, queries, analyzes)

Attribute and spatial search

Comparative, thematic and spatio-temporal analysis

While waiting for the SIREDD to go online, you will find following the links below, a documentation on climate change in the regions prepared by the Regional Observatories of the Environment and Sustainable Development:

CC in the region of Gharb-Chrarda-Bni Hssen

 

Links to Regional Information System on the Environment and Sustainable Development (SIREDD)

 

Avenue Al Araa, Secteur 16 Villa A4, Hay Riad à Rabat

+212 537 571 448

CREATED WITH THE SUPPORT OF :

Copyright © 2020 - 4C Maroc

DONNÉES NATIONALES CC

 

Inventaire National des émissions de gaz à effet de serre

Conformément à ses engagements internationaux dans le cadre de la Convention Cadre des Nations Unies sur les Changements Climatiques (CCNUCC), notamment le renforcement de la transparence des actions visant l’atténuation des émissions des gaz à effet de serre (GES), le Maroc a mis en place, depuis 2015, un Système National d’Inventaire des GES baptisé ‘SNI-GES’.

 

Avec l’accompagnement du Projet d’Appui au Centre de Compétences Changement Climatique (4C - IKI) de la GIZ, implémenté en partenariat avec le Secrétariat d’État chargé du Développement Durable, la mise en place du SNI-GES a concerné deux principaux volets. Il s’agit d’une part de l’institutionnalisation par l’accompagnement des acteurs nationaux pour établir des arrangements institutionnels formalisés par un décret, et, d’autre part, du renforcement des capacités des différents intervenants pour les doter des instruments techniques et outils méthodologiques susceptibles d’assurer la qualité et la pérennité du système mis en place.

 

Le Système mis en place joue un rôle primordial dans la transparence de la mise en oeuvre des engagements nationaux vis-à-vis de la communauté internationale et constitue un outil précieux de pilotage des politiques nationales en matière de réduction des émissions de GES.

Pour capitaliser les expériences antérieures, un Diagnostic des travaux de l’inventaire national de GES a été mené en 2014 et a servi de base pour la conception de l’architecture du SNI-GES et les acteurs à impliquer. Le schéma institutionnel convenu comporte une Commission Nationale d’Inventaire (CNI), une Unité Nationale d’Inventaire (UNI), un Coordinateur National, cinq Coordinateurs Sectoriels, des Inventoristes et des Points Focaux. Ce schéma a été arrêté à la suite d’un large processus de concertation avec les différentes parties prenantes. Un Décret (N° 2.18.74) définissant les responsabilités des acteurs a été adopté et publié au Bulletin Officiel.

 

Données et indicateurs régionaux

Les indicateurs régionaux ont été élaborés dans le cadre du système de suivi et d'évaluation (SSE) de la vulnérabilité et de l'adaptation au changement climatique (ACC) dans les régions du Souss-Massa, Marrakech-Tensift-Al Haouz et Beni Mellal Khenifra. Ce recueil constitue le résumé d'un travail  de concertation effectué entre les Observatoirs Régionaux de l'Environnement et du Développement Durable (OREDD) des régions mentionnés et le projet Gouvernance Environnement Climat (GEC) de la GIZ.

Définition, méthodologie et processus de construction des indicateurs

Un indicateur est une variable, une donnée dont les valeurs sont significatives par rapport à la problématique traitée.  En effet, l'indicateur permet de traduire une réalité ou un état généralement assez complexe en une information succincte et facilement compréhensible que l'utilisateur final peut intégrer dans son activité. Pour ce faire, il est nécessaire de tenir compte de deux aspects inséparables :

 

Le premier aspect consiste à sélectionner l'indicateur selon une démarche concertée sur la base de critères clairs et objectifs ;

 

Le deuxième aspect est l'interprétation de l'indicateur et la communication des informations qui en découlent sous un format adapté qui répond aux besoins en information exprimés par l'utilisateur final.

​Les indicateurs ont pour mission principale, d'une part, d'apporter des éléments de diagnostic de la vulnérabilité au niveau de la région qui serviraient de référence par rapport aux évolutions dans le temps et, d'autre part, à établir des comparaisons et à mesurer les évolutions éventuelles.

Les indicateurs sont issus d’un processus de concertation selon les phases suivantes :​

4

Renseignement de la grille définitive et établissement d’un état de référence 

Identification et priorisation, sur la base de critères clairs et concertés, des indicateurs et constitution d'une grille préliminaire

2

1

Élaboration de la méthodologie de suivi

3

Finalisation et validation de la grille des indicateurs

Indicateurs régionaux

Vous trouverez pour chacune des régions mentionnées en présentation, une fiche répertoriant les indicateurs pertinents dans les domaines de l'eau, de l'agriculture, de la forêt et de la biodiversité ainsi que d'autres données intéressantes pour l'analyse des facteurs de développement durable dans les régions étudiées.

Changement climatique dans les régions

Système d’Information Régional sur l’Environnement et le Développement Durable (SIREDD) 

Dans un souci de décentralisation de la gestion de l’information environnementale et dans le but de répondre aux besoins des décideurs régionaux et locaux, les régions économiques marocaines ont besoin d’un système performant pour collecter, analyser et gérer les données environnementales. C’est dans ce contexte que le Ministère délégué chargé de l’Environnement s’est engagé pour la mise en place d’un Système d’Information Régional sur l’Environnement (SIRE). L’objectif général est de disposer d’un outil d’aide à la décision et de veille stratégique en matière de gestion et de protection de l’environnement et du développement durable au niveau de la région.

Objectifs spécifiques

Représenter la situation environnementale de la région

Faciliter et dynamiser la circulation de l’information entre les partenaires régionaux (réseau)

Disposer d’un tableau de bord environnemental de suivi de l’état de l’environnement à l’échelle régionale  basé sur une liste d’indicateurs environnementaux

 

Renforcer les capacités des acteurs régionaux

Renforcer la prospective environnementale à l’aide des outils de projection future de l’état de l’environnement

Mettre en place une plateforme de production et de diffusion régulière des produits environnementaux de l’Observatoire Régional de l’Environnement et du  Développement Durable de la région

Le Système d’Information Régional sur l’Environnement est réalisé en concertation avec les partenaires régionaux et offre un cadre de partage des données transparent et ouvert aux citoyens. Elle permet la gestion des trois formes de l’information alphanumérique, géographique et documentaire dans une même base de données structurée. Elle offre les services suivants :

Ajout de nouvelles thématiques (changement climatique) et de nouveaux  indicateurs

Paramétrage de couches géographiques

Création de nouveaux services (Applications, requêtes, analyses)

Recherche attributaire et spatiale

Analyse comparative, thématique et spatio-temporelle

En l’attente de la mise en ligne des SIREDD, vous trouverez en suivant les liens ci-dessous, une documentation sur le changement climatique dans les régions préparée par les Observatoires régionaux de l’Environnement et du Développement durable :​